Texas 10 Most Wanted Program Doubles Previous Record Number … – the Texas Department of Public Safety

AUSTIN – The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is pleased to announce that in 2022, it had the highest number of Most Wanted Offenders captured in a single year since the program’s inception in 1993. Last year DPS, in cooperation with state, federal, local, and Mexican authorities,* captured a record 72 fugitives and sex offenders. That is more than double the previous record set the year prior.

“Public safety is a top priority in the State of Texas, and I am proud of the brave DPS troopers and law enforcement partners who have contributed to this record-breaking achievement,” said Governor Greg Abbott. “Through the Texas 10 Most Wanted Program, our brave men and women of law enforcement have taken some of the most dangerous criminals off our streets and made our communities safer for all Texans. Texas will always be a law-and-order state, and together we are keeping it that way.”

In addition to the 72 captures, $88,000 in reward money was paid in anonymous tips that resulted in arrests.

“The success of this program is largely due to the public speaking up and reporting the whereabouts of these criminals to law enforcement,” said DPS Director Steven McCraw. “It truly takes the public working with law enforcement to make our communities, and all of us, safer. We want to thank all of our law enforcement partners, who helped successfully bring these criminals to justice.”

The 72 people captured in 2022 include 34 convicted sex offenders and 24 gang members – the most in program history. In addition to the most total captures ever, the program also set several other new records with the most warrants cleared (220) and the most out-of-state captures (14). This included arrests in Arkansas, California, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon and Mexico.

For more information on the fugitives captured in 2022 as part of the Texas 10 Most Wanted Program, visit the captured fugitive archive.

The Texas Crime Stoppers Office recently recognized Intelligence and Counterterrorism Division (ICT) Analysts Hannah Robinson and Adam Unnasch, both assigned to the Texas 10 Most Wanted Program, for their role in making the program a huge success. Each was presented with a letter of recognition from Governor Greg Abbott.

Working collaboratively with DPS’ Criminal Investigations Division, Robinson and Unnasch provide critical information and analysis to help law enforcement partners around the state and nation capture the fugitives on the Top 10 Most Wanted Lists. Through their tremendous work, these analysts help law enforcement protect and serve their communities by getting wanted criminals off the streets. 

DPS investigators work with local law enforcement agencies to select fugitives for the Texas 10 Most Wanted Fugitives and Sex Offenders lists who pose the most significant threat to public safety in the state. You can find the current lists — with photos — on the DPS website.

Texas Crime Stoppers, which the Governor’s Criminal Justice Division funds, offers rewards to anyone who provides information that leads to the arrest of one of Texas’ 10 Most Wanted Fugitives or Sex Offenders.

Crime Stoppers programs enable citizens to anonymously report information about crimes for cash rewards, helping put criminals behind bars and assist in crime reduction efforts.

To be eligible for cash rewards, tipsters MUST provide information to authorities using one of the following three methods:

  • Call the Crime Stoppers hotline at 1-800-252-TIPS (8477).
  • Submit a web tip through the DPS website by selecting the fugitive you have information about then clicking on the link under their picture.
  • Submit a Facebook tip by clicking the “SUBMIT A TIP” link (under the “About” section).

All tips are anonymous — regardless of how they are submitted — and tipsters will be provided a tip number instead of using a name.

*The partner agencies involved in the 72 captures in 2022 included the DPS Criminal Investigations Division, Texas Highway Patrol, DPS Air Support, DPS Commercial Vehicle Enforcement (CVE), DPS Intelligence & Counterterrorism Division, 16th Judicial District Drug Task Force (Arkansas), Abilene Police Department, Amarillo Police Department, Anna (Illinois) Police Department, Anthony Police Department, Arkansas District of Corrections K-9 Unit, Arkansas Game & Fish, Atascosa County Sheriff’s Office, Austin Police Department, Bastrop County Sheriff’s Office, Baton Rouge (Louisiana) Police Department, Baxter County (Arkansas) Aerial Unit, Bexar County District Attorney’s Office, Bexar County Sheriff’s Office, Brazos County Sheriff’s Office, Bryan Police Department, Cobden (Illinois) Police Department, Collin County District Attorney’s Office, Collin County Sheriff’s Office, Commerce Police Department, Corpus Christi Police Department, Council Bluffs (Iowa) Police Department, Customs and Border Protection (CBP), Dallas County District Attorney’s Office, Dallas Police Department, DART Police, Dimmit County Sheriff’s Office, Dona Ana County Sheriff’s Office, Durant (Oklahoma) Police Department, East Baton Rouge (Louisiana) Sheriff’s Office, Fort Bend County Sheriff’s Office, Fort Worth Police Department, Galveston Police Department, Grand Prairie Police Department, Grayson County District Attorney’s Office, Harris County Constable’s Office Precinct 5, Hereford Police Department, Houston Police Department, Immigration & Customs Enforcement (ICE), Izard County (Arkansas) Sheriff’s Office, Jonesboro (Illinois) Police Department, Keller Police Department, Los Angeles (California) Police Department, Lubbock Police Department, Mansfield Police Department, Mexican authorities, Montgomery County Constable Precinct 3, Mountain View (Arkansas) Police Department, Navy Criminal Investigative Service (NCIS), New Mexico State Police, Nolan County Sheriff’s Office, Pecos Police Department, Plainview Police Department, Robstown Police Department, Rosenberg Police Department, Sabine County Sheriff’s Office, San Patricio County Sheriff’s Office, Sherman Police Department, Sinton Police Department, Stone County (Arkansas) Sheriff’s Office, Sugar Land Police Department, Sweetwater Police Department, Texas Attorney General’s Office, Texas Department of Criminal Justice-Office of the Inspector General (TDCJ-OIG), Texas Governor’s Office, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Travis County Sheriff’s Office, Union County (Illinois) Sheriff’s Office, U.S. Border Patrol, U.S. Homeland Security Investigations, U.S. Marshals Gulf Coast Violent Offenders Fugitive Task Force, U.S. Marshals Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force, U.S. Marshals Lone Star Fugitive Task Force, U.S. Marshals New Orleans Task Force, U.S. Marshals North Texas Fugitive Task Force, U.S. Marshals Pacific Northwest Violent Offender Task Force, U.S. Marshals Pacific Southwest Regional Fugitive Task Force, U.S. Marshals Service – District of New Jersey, U.S. Marshals Service District of New Mexico – Southwest Investigative Fugitive Team, U.S. Marshals Southeast Regional Fugitive Task Force, U.S. Marshals Southern Iowa Fugitive Task Force, Val Verde County Sheriff’s Office, Walton County (Georgia) Sheriff’s Office and Williamson County Sheriff’s Office.

### (HQ 2023-006)

Original News Source


You Can Unsubscribe At Any Time!

This will close in 0 seconds